What’s On the Horizon-UA Horizon RTT Product Review

Disclaimer: I received an UA Horizon RTT to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

Let me start out by saying I have never owned anything Under Armour except a couple of heat/cold gear shirts, so I was excited to get the opportunity to try out their new trail running shoe. Living in North Carolina, the one thing we have an abundance of is TRAILS. I figured I would give the Horizon RTT some good test runs in Umstead Park, which is full of gravel and dirt trails.

Specifics

• Durable PU & textile upper for breathability & reliable protection

• Reinforced welded synthetic in critical areas for increased durability

• Mesh heel with dual protective welds

• Molded collar foam package for added comfort

• Charged Cushioning® foam puck placed under the heel for responsive comfort

• Lightweight, full-length EVA midsole for optimal cushioning

• High traction rubber lug outsole for dependable traction on a variety of conditions

• Offset: 7 mm

• Weight: 12 oz.

• Imported

Eye Test

I received the black/elemental color, and to be honest…I don’t like black running shoes. I prefer my running shoes to have color and be fun, these were not eye popping for me. There are 4 colors to choose from, and with exception of the blue color, the other 3 all have a heavy color black presence. I do; however, like the large under armour symbol on the outside of the shoes. The shoe laces are well made, so you don’t have to worry about any fraying taking place. One of the first thing you will notice while looking at this shoe, is the trend. The tread is well pronounced and looks ready to tackle some terrain.

Wear

I took the Horizon RTT out on several different test runs, and while there were some aspects I liked, overall they just weren’t the right shoe for me.

Pro
Tread- As I mentioned earlier, the tread is very pronounced and it definitely delivers. Whether I was running uphill over gravel or dirt, the shoes had amazing grip. I never felt the fear of falling or tripping due to lack of grip. I even deliberately ran through creek and then up a gravel hill to see if it affected the grip, but it was still strong.

Durable-The Horizon RTT appear to be made fairly well and come across durable. Through dirt, rocks, water, etc, I didn’t notice any significant scratches. These shoes appear to have been made to take a good licking.

Con
Stiff- These shoes were very stiff for me. I am used to shoes that hug your foot but the Horizon RTT just didn’t do that for me.  I first thought it was just due to the newness for my first couple of runs, but I still experienced the same stiffness 5 runs in. They didn’t really conform to the feet, instead of being flexible; it was more like they just bent. The tops of the shoes, by the ankle, would bend/fold which didn’t feel great during the run.

Recommendation

Although I mentioned some pros and cons for the Horizon RTT, overall the shoe is just not one I would find enjoyable to wear. That being said, if you are a runner that prefers a stiffer-type shoe, this is probably the trail shoe for you. I realize every runner is different, so while I enjoy a conforming/flexible shoe, others enjoy a more rugged durable stiffer shoe. The heavy presence of black in the color choices is only minor, because I could learn to deal with the dark colors if the shoe had been more flexible. My final verdict is, it’s a nice trail shoe, just not the right trail shoe for me.

Want to try them yourself, here is the link

Under Armour Horizon RTT

You can see what some of my other Bibrave Pros, who tested, had to say about them below.

JessicaLindsey