Let’s face it, it’s the new Norm- Body Helix Ultra-Light Face Mask Review

Disclaimer: I received a Body Helix Ultra Light Face Mask to review as part of being a Bibrave Pro. Learn more about becoming a Bibrave Pro (ambassador), and check out Bibrave.com to review, find, and write race reviews”

It’s been a while since my last post, and the world has gone through more than a few changes. Most, if not, all of us have had our entire race calendar cancelled due to Covid-19. I was lucky enough to get 1 live race in before everything started to shut down. As runners we are starting to have to embrace the new norm(or new norm for the time being), which involves face covering and social distancing. So when the opportunity to test Body Helix new face mask was presented, I jumped at the chance.

Let’s look at the tale of the tape for the Body Helix Ultra-Light Face Mask:

1. Reusable and Washable:
it goes without saying, most people want something that can be washed and reused vs having to keep buying disposable items

2. Flexible, closed-cell fabric which prevents the transmission of water, viruses and germs

3. Disposable filters 

4. Large over-the-ear strap helps reduce the ear soreness you typically get when wearing something for an extended period of time on your over your ears.

5. Very Light and fabric is only 0.5mm which helps during hot temperatures

6. Optional nasal bridge controls air leakage and also helps reduce the dreaded glasses fog

7. Simple measurement helps to ensure more customizable fit for your mask and maximize protection.

Installing the filter

Style
As far as masks go, this is one of the more stylish ones I have seen. I kind of felt like Bane(from Batman) when I was out running or Jason in Friday the 13th, depending on who you ask. Lol

Test Runs

Let me start by saying, I’ve never run with any type of anything covering my nose and mouth. Even in cold weather, I will still have my nose uncovered so I knew this was going to be a new experience. The summer heat has been no joke here in NC, and it is made even worse by the high humidity percentages. The first morning I went out on a 10 mile run, temps were 77 degrees and the humidity was 100%. I know….I know.. pure torture. I was amazed at how easy it was to breath while running in the ultra light mask. I was able to breath freely through the miles but I did have to stop and remove to get hydration.

My second run was a shorter distance but I experienced the same results. My breathing was fine, but again the high humidity just made everything more difficult so mask was soaked with sweat by the end.

RECOMMENDATION
This is a product I would recommend, not only because of the current state of the world but I can see myself using it after we finally get through this Covid craziness. The only thing I could see as an improvement would be if they design a snap in for the disposable filters, rather than adhesive. This will take out the issue of trying to line it up so that all the holes are covered. Head over to bodyhelix.com and grab yours. Use code BR15 to get 15% off your order of $40 or more.

Here are what some of my fellow BRPs had to say

Jessica Danielle

5 thoughts on “Let’s face it, it’s the new Norm- Body Helix Ultra-Light Face Mask Review

Leave a comment